Review: Tui T Sutherland – Wings of Fire (books 1-5)

Wings of Fire
Tui T Sutherland

The fabled Dragonets of Destiny have spent the whole of their years being hidden underground. When one’s life is in danger however, they take it upon themselves to escape and get the Prophecy started already!

The set up of these books is that each one of the five dragonets of the Prophecy get a book to themselves. The first two books really only rely on the main characters (Clay and Tsunami) to carry them. Naturally then, I loved Clay the most – he might not be the brightest, but he is certainly the friendliest (plus he likes eating). After that point, we start seeing a bit more variety in the dragonets involved, particularly in book 4 (Starflight – Dark dragon).

I actually read the first three novels by borrowing them from my daughter, but then had to access books four and five online as she wouldn’t part with them (doing a full reread of the 13 released books in the series). I then was reading book 3 aloud (because it’s Glory’s book, and I like her!) and somehow got suckered into reading it again. This is easy reading for adults and advanced readers. I think this is the perfect precursor to Eragon or House of Dragons for the young dragon fanatics among us.

I confess. I hated the ending. I wasn’t at all invested in the dragon that ended up Queen, and too many plots didn’t have an ending. There’s a big deal made around how only dragons that are royal by blood can rule for the majority of the books, but then the final choice is… different.

Tsunami is deemed the favourite of my daughter, because she’s a Seawing, and seawings are awesome! My thoughts on the matter are that I reckon that it’s because of all the dragonets, Tsunami is the snappiest, with a hint of magic around her due to her family history. She’s also fearless.

It’s not adult reading, but it can certainly be enjoyed by an adult as a bedtime reading book to a young dragon fancier. I was lucky enough to receive a review copy of “The Winglets Quartet”, so expect that review near in the future!

3 thoughts on “Review: Tui T Sutherland – Wings of Fire (books 1-5)

  1. Pingback: Review: Tui T Sutherland – The Winglets Quartet | The Cosy Dragon

  2. Good points, but I have to wholeheartedly disagree with the statement that Wings of Fire is “not adult reading”.

    I, for instance, am 21 years old and only got into this series less than year ago and it has become one of my all-time favourite book series, right next to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.

    I would recommend this series to all dragon-lovers regardless of age, and do not make the mistake to dismiss it for seeming “too childish” at first glance, which it really isn’t.
    While the language might be rather simplistic (as expected from a middle-grade series), the story still offers more than enough mature themes that adults will find enjoyable as well .

    (Excuse my bad spelling, English isn’t my first language but I felt like this had to be said.)

    • You’re what is termed a young adult or a new adult, and anyway, it’s perfectly ok for adults to enjoy reading these novels! However, if a reader is looking for something a little more meaty, these novels aren’t going to be Tolkien standard so to speak.
      ~ Rose
      PS: I think your spelling is just fine, and thanks for stopping by – I’m always keen to give more readers a voice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.